Wednesday, July 23, 2008

Day 1 - is it about me?

Today is Day 1. I can't believe I'm doing this. My son and his girlfriend each have a blog and I enjoy reading them. I am from old school and believe putting things in writing is both beneficial as well as dangerous. But what the hell, I'm going for it because I need to do something different. So a little about me so any new readers might know who smlb56 is. I am a 44 year old woman - wife of 24 years to Anthony and mother of 3 to Matt, Michelle and Katie Rose. I work full time at a bank regional office. I consider myself very grateful for the life that I have. My hubby and I live in a beautiful victorian home that we built 8 years ago. We own a business and live a fairly average suburban life in NJ. Oh back to me. I'm 5ft 5 and have blond hair and blue/green eyes. I think I'm going through a mid life something or maybe just trying to figure out who I am. I'm having difficult describing myself even on this blog. There is so much I can say, but I think I'll just wait and do little pieces at a time.

Here are some stuff about me:

Music: I like everything from hard rock to classical. I like country (Rascal Flatts, etc) to classic rock (Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, Bad Company, Eagles, Reo Speedwagon, Styxx) to everyday pop music. I like to sing along especially with Elton John. He's my favorite. I like to listen to classical music when I'm cooking or baking.

Food: I like my meatballs (I make the best). I like a nice piece of fish with a little pasta and vegetables with a glass of wine. I love chicken anything. For dessert, creme brulee or fresh strawberries to dip in chocolate.

Clothes: I'm boring. I wear a business suit everyday to work. My closet looks bad and I struggle everyday to figure out what to wear. I need a personal fashion assistant. I'm probably being to rough on myself with this one as most would say I look nice everyday, but I want to revive my look. Of course it will have to be after I lose those proverbial 15 pounds.

Hobbies: I have none and want many. My son says I definitely need a hobby. I try to garden, but I kill everything. I do not have a green thumb, but would like one. I like to cook and bake. I'm pretty good with this. I like to entertain when I"m in the mood to. I like to shop for domestics (towels, bedspreads, pillows, etc). It's weird.

Car: I just traded in my big SUV and bought a Mazda 3. I love it. This is my first car since 1992.

Travel: I love it. I've been to a good many places..... but lots more to go. Definitely on the "to do list".

Okay, thats it for now. I will have to learn how to do cool things like post pictures and stuff.